Art Group: Leafy Gaps

IMG_0578

Today I went back to my art group after a gap of several months. Sadly, I have had to give up volunteering there for the time being as I found the pressure of having to be there (and having to stay until the end) too much. It doesn’t help that, due to the bus times, going to an art group between 10:30 am and 1:00 pm involved me leaving the house at 8:50 am and not getting home until around 3:00 pm!

However, even if I can’t volunteer, I can at least go along. I had heard on the grapevine that there aren’t any art activities being provided at the moment, so I brought my own. I had intended to do some oil pastel art work to go behind a stained-glass window effect silhouette I’d made on a friend’s Scan’n’Cut. But my first attempt didn’t please me, and my second attempt turned into something I liked too much to hide behind a stained-glass window outline!

I started by drawing the stems, and then added leaves. This created lots of sections for me to explore. I used different colours and ideas in each section – we have a sun, some flowers, autumn leaves, waves, and some more random shapes and colours.

I think this looks really effective. I really like the autumn leaves section, where I have managed to create an impression of a carpet of leaves. I like the boldness of the colours, and the way I have managed to use contrasting colours to good effect. All in all, I think it’s a good morning’s work!

And I haven’t forgotten my stained-glass windows. I left one idea unfinished, and I have more ideas for those silhouettes… watch this space!

Leave a comment